top of page
  • Writer's pictureCourtney

Unashamed by Christine Caine

Updated: Aug 29, 2020

"The enemy will put a gate from your past in front of every new things to which God is calling you, and you will have to decide if you will take a rest and move forward" (Caine, 2016, p. 90).


Christine Caine starts her book by using her own journey to unpack how shame affects our lives. She then uses God's truth to dispel the lies of guilt and shame throughout the book. Caine defines shame and compares it to guilt.  She ends her book with a call to take up arms against the enemy and implores us to use God's gifts to chose to overcome shame in our lives.


This book was recommended to me by a friend so I grabbed it from the library which was the first source that I could find.  After reading it, I knew this would be one needed for my shelf. This will be a book I skim from time to time and reread my own highlights.  As with all good books Caine's quotations and mentions of other books in her writings have added at least two more books to my future book list.


Quick Glean: If you have to skim this read at least turn to page 37 to fully soak in Caine delving into Brene Brown's definitions of guilt verses shame. This one page is powerful enough to buy the book.


Goosbump alert: In Chapter 3, "Reaching for Freedom," the story of the woman with the flow of blood from Mark 5 will change the way you envision that chapter of the Bible.





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page