top of page

The Pursuit of Holiness by Jerry Bridges

This book is the cure for complacency. The Pursuit of Holiness was first recommended to me when I was in college and I have read it several times since then. It never fails to convict me through the entire read. Even though The Pursuit of Holiness was written decades ago, the prophetic voice of Bridges is still applicable today. In fact, after reading this book I just mailed it to a young lady in college hoping its words would encourage her.


Bridges writes "Bitterness arises in our hearts when we do not trust in the sovereign rule of God in our lives." As I was listening to this book through audiobook, I quickly scrambled to write this quote down as I listened. Bridges reinterates several times that any sin we allow in our lives no matter how small leads us away from Christ and his holiness. This practical book then gives examples of how we can strive for being holy not just good. This is a book you need on your shelf, highlighted and dogeared, and you need to give to friends, a true Christian classic.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page