top of page
  • Writer's pictureCourtney

Get Out of Your Head by Jennie Allen

Updated: Aug 29, 2020

About this study from the publisher:

Are your thoughts holding you captive? Jennie Allen knows what it’s like to swirl in a spiral of destructive thoughts, such as I’ll never be good enough. Other people have better lives than I do. God couldn’t really love me. But Jennie also knows we don’t have to stay stuck in toxic thinking patterns.

As she discovered in her own life, God built a way for us to escape that downward spiral. Freedom comes when we refuse to be victims to our thoughts and realize we have already been equipped with power from God to fight and win the war for our minds.


After seeing the byline I knew this was something I needed to pick up for myself.  This was a perfect summer study for me after being at home and in my own thoughts during this pandemic and quarantine time.  I was so thankful that FaithGateway was doing this as their free summer online bible study.  I bought a copy of the study myself and was able to watch the video lessons through FaithGateway Online Bible Studies.  Allen's study is a 6-week walk through the book of Philippians (my favorite book in the Bible).  I finished this study a month ago and have already pulled it back off of my shelf to reference it again.  The study is about memorizing scripture and adjusting thought patterns or “spiraling up” thoughts to praise God.  This study was extremely helpful to me and I have used this concept with parenting my children as well.  This is why Get Out of Your Head is one of my 2020 Pandemic Picks.


Quick Glean:  I have gone back to reference session 6 several times, it was my favorite chapter so if you don’t have much time definitely check out that chapter.  

I would recommend this study and I will probably lead a small group to do this study in the near future. There is also a book on this topic which would make a great gift.

This study is very short (6 weeks in length).  The homework to me was perfect, each day maybe took me 20 minutes with distractions.  The homework length was much shorter than a Beth Moore study and easy for me to do while the boys watched a quick tv show and our summer schedule.  Also I did this on my own but it would make a great group study as well. 


3 views0 comments
bottom of page