top of page
  • Writer's pictureCourtney

12 Faithful Women; Portraits of Steadfast Endurance

Updated: Aug 29, 2020

"These are not your sufferings; they are not beating you. These are My sufferings: all I ask of you is the loan of your body." Helen Roseveare, Living Sacrifice, 22.

Helen Roseveare, Esther Ahn Kim, Sarah Edwards and Elisabeth Elliot are a few of the faithful women written about in this book. I was familiar with some of the twelve women and some of the women were new introductions for me. In this book, each chapter was written by a different author and overall edited by Melissa Kruger. The chapters include a short biography, some of their accomplishments and lessons we can learn from these women's lives.

I love biographies. I love learning from people who have gone before us and some who are still with us (Joni Eareckson Tada). It was an encouragement to learn about these women, their hardships, even their character flaws and how God uses his faithful servants to the end.


Quick Glean: This is a short concise book that is packed with information. This is a great place to start for those wanting to wade into biographies. I myself will be finding a more in-depth biography on Susannah Spurgeon.

Also, I found out I have been pronouncing Joni Eareckson Tada's name wrong all of these years 🤯. She was named after her Dad so it's pronounced like Johnny!


2 views0 comments
bottom of page